Sooner Weddings​​
Kathryn Renic​k Copeland

​​
Wedding Officiant Minister Celebrant Pre-Marital Counseling

​Servicing Oklahoma City, Ok and surrounding areas
405-887-7736​​​

​​

Oklahoma Marriage License Information

  
Marriage Qualifications-Age 18 and older
Proof of age is required. Current Drivers license (not expired), birth certificate, passport, etc.
Age 16-17-Parental consent of either parent or legal guardian, birth certificate.
Under 16-Under 16, marriage is prohibited in this state except by court order.
Divorce-Persons divorced in Oklahoma may not marry anyone other than their previous spouse for a period of six months after the divorce decree is filed.
Blood Test-Oklahoma law does not require a premarital blood test.
Residency-No residency requirements.
Fees-$50.00 license fee or $5.00 if premarital counseling completed. The reduced fee shall apply upon presentation to the Court Clerk of an original certificate of successful completion of a premarital counseling program. The certificate must be an original document, not a copy, and shall state that the named persons have successfully completed the premarital counseling  requirements. NO COPIES, FAXES OR EMAILED COUNSELING CERTIFICATES.  The Marriage License Fee is paid at the court clerks office.
The premarital counseling program must be conducted in accordance with Oklahoma Statute  43 O.S. 5.1.
Waiting Period-No waiting period required except for those under the age of 18. If under the age of 18, there is a 72 hour waiting period.
Waived period exception-Written waiver signed by Judge.

OKC Downtown Location
Court Clerk
 320 Robert S. Kerr, Room 402
 Oklahoma City, OK 73102
 (405) 713-2239

Downtown office hours for obtaining a Marriage License are Monday thru Friday between 8:00 A.M. and 4:00 P.M., holidays excluded. Open during the lunch hour.  PLEASE ARRIVE EARLY!

 Edmond Location
 Court Clerk
 Downtown Edmond Community Center 
 28 East Main
 Edmond, Oklahoma
 (405) 359-4515

Edmond office hours for obtaining a Marriage License are Monday thru Friday between 8:00 A.M. and 4:00 P.M., holidays excluded. Closed for lunch from 12:00 P.M. to 1:00 P.M. PLEASE ARRIVE at least thirty (30) minutes before 12:00 p.m. and 4:00 p.m.

Oklahoma County Judges do NOT perform daily marriage ceremonies effective Monday, March 12, 2007.  For information regarding which counties still offer courthouse weddings, call the County Court Clerks Office in question.

Ministers' Credentials----- 405-713-2239      MY CREDENTIALS ARE RECORDERED IN BOOK #  MC2010    PAGE 354 of Oklahoma County
By law, those performing marriage ceremonies in the State of Oklahoma must record their credentials with the Court Clerk's Office. Ministers who live outside Oklahoma who desire to perform a marriage ceremony in our State also must file their credentials with the Court Clerk prior to conducting the service.

YOUR MARRIAGE LICENSE MAY BE PURCHASED IN ANY COUNTY COURT CLERKS OFFICE IN THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA, IT DOES NOT HAVE TO BE PURCHASED IN THE COUNTY WHERE THE WEDDING IS PERFORMED BUT THE SIGNED LICENSE MUST BE RETURNED TO THE OFFICE WHERE PURCHASED. 

Marriage License Frequently Asked Questions

How much is a marriage license? Are there any discounts?
Answer: $50.00 license fee or $5.00 if premarital counseling completed. The reduced fee shall apply upon presentation to the Court Clerk of an original certificate of successful completion of a premarital counseling program. The certificate must be an original document, not a copy, and shall state that the named persons have successfully completed the premarital counseling requirements. NO COPIES, FAXES OR EMAILED COUNSELING CERTIFICATES.

 The premarital counseling program must be conducted in accordance with Oklahoma Statute 43 O.S. 5.1.

What is required to obtain a marriage license?
Answer: Both parties must present valid identification (a valid driver's license-not expired; state I.D.; military I.D.; a valid passport; a certified copy of your birth certificate issued by the state or county, not the hospital; or any other state or federal document issued as proof of identity and age).

What is the legal age to get married in Oklahoma?
Answer: Applicants 18 years of age or older may obtain a marriage license without parental consent. Minors 16 or 17 years of age may obtain a marriage license when one of the legal custodial guardians or parents is present with valid photo identification, with a certified copy of each minor’s birth certificate issued by a state or county, not by a hospital. Foreign language birth certificates must be translated into English by an official translator. There is a 72 hour waiting period for minors before the license may be issued.

EREWhat if neither applicant speaks English?
Answer: Applicants must provide a third person to translate.

OKLAHOMA MARRIAGE LICENSE IS VALID FOR 10 DAYS ONLY FROM DATE OF PURCHASE!

LICENSE MUST BE RETURNED TO THE SAME OFFICE WHERE PURCHASED WITHIN 30 DAYS, BY MAIL OR IN PERSON.